Click to Home
Go To Search
City Council
City Government
Lisa Hamilton
City Clerk

202 Railroad Ave.
Rifle, CO  81650

Ph: (970) 665-6405
Fx: (970) 665-6402

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Rifle is a home rule city with a Council/Manager form of government. Seven Council members are elected at large by a non-partisan election (held in September of odd-numbered years) to four-year, overlapping terms. After each election, the Council elects a mayor from among its members to a two-year term of office.

Helping to shape the City’s future, the City Council serves as the legislative and governing body. The City Council sets policy, enacts laws, adopts a budget, and hires a City Manager, City Attorney, City Clerk, Chief of Police, and Municipal Judge. By adopting the City’s annual budget, Council sets funding levels for all City services and programs.

City Council meets the first and third Wednesdays each month in City Hall Council Chambers, 202 Railroad Avenue, at 7:00 p.m. Meetings are televised live on Rifle Community Television-Channel 10 and are also aired on the Saturday after the meeting at 10:00 a.m.

Kristy Christensen
Deputy City Clerk

202 Railroad Ave.
Rifle, CO  81650

Ph: (970) 665-6403
Fx: (970) 665-6402

Monday - Friday
8:00 am - 5:00 pm
City seeks to fill vacancy on Council

Do you want to help guide Rifle into the future? The City of Rifle seeks a civic-minded person to serve on City Council until September 2015. You must be a registered voter, have resided within the Rifle city limits for at least 1 year, and have the time to prepare for and participate in 2 monthly meetings, plus frequent additional meetings. Please read about the time commitment here.

Pay is $400/month, but the rewards from serving your community are large. 

Submit your letter of interest to Rifle City Clerk, 202 Railroad Avenue, Rifle, CO 81650, , by noon, August 29. 

Council Members
Mayor Randy Winkler
Phone (970) 309-1388
E-mail Randy Winkler 

Mayor Pro Tem Jay Miller
Phone (970) 319-1503
E-mail Jay Miller 

Councilor Rich Carter
Phone (970) 625-0580
E-mail Rich Carter

Councilor Barb Clifton
Phone (970) 625-2410
E-mail Barb Clifton 

Councilor Dirk Myers
Phone (970) 658-6491
E-mail Dirk Myers

Councilor Jonathan Rice
Phone (970) 309-1830
E-mail Jonathan Rice